Skip to main content

The Drum


Darlin' Neal is the author of the story collections, Rattlesnakes & The Moon (Press 53, 2010) and Elegant Punk (Press 53, 2012). She is the 2011 Taos Summer Writers Conference DH Lawrence Fellow. Her work has appeared in The Southern Review, Shenandoah, Puerto del Sol and dozens of other magazines, as well as in anthologies such as Best of The Web 2009, and Southern Poetry Anthology: Volume II, Mississippi (Texas Review Press), and has been featured in the Huffington Post. Among her awards are a fiction fellowship from the Mississippi Arts Commission, a Henfield Transatlantic Award, New Mexico State University’s Frank Waters Fiction Fellowship, and the Joan Johnson Award from the Center for Writers. She holds an assistant professorship in the MFA program at The University of Central Florida.

Her story "Honey, Don't" appears in the March 2014 issue of The Drum.

Audio Stories by DARLIN' NEAL

Honey, Don't